Skip to content

Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre Season 1 Recap (Episodes 1-12)

January 19, 2023

The post Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre Season 1 Recap (Episodes 1-12) appeared first on Ready Steady Cut.

This article is a recap of the story of Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of Macabre Season 1. It contains some minor spoilers for all twelve episodes, but no details or endings.

The netflix anime anthology Junji Ito Crazy adapts the collected works of beloved mangaka Junji Itō in 20 stories spread over 12 episodes of 25 minutes. Ito is a master of his craft widely recognized for his gruesome stories and characters, and this collection includes a sampling of some of his most famous, as well as a few of his lesser known and, if we’re being frank, less impressive ones. efforts.

Below is a brief summary of each episode, including the story from which it is adapted. Each entry includes some details about the premise but nothing about the ending.

Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre Season 1 Recap (Episodes 1-12)

Episode 1 – “The Strange Hikizuri Siblings”

This opening episode tells a single story of The circus is herethe fifth volume of Junji Ito’s Horror World. It’s a relatively inauspicious opening without too many legitimate scares or lasting imagery, but it has a fun dysfunction at its core.

Episode 2 – “The Story of the Mysterious Tunnel” / “Ice Cream Bus”

“The Story of the Mysterious Tunnel” is the main story of the fourteenth volume of Junji Ito’s Horror World and is about… well, a mysterious tunnel. It’s basically a ghost story with a strong family component, and there’s some cool footage towards the end. “Ice Cream Bus” is the first chapter of the tenth volume of the same series, Puppet House, and is an iconic Ito story. This is where the anthology really kicks off with a really nasty premise.

Read also Mr Bean was ‘a narcissistic anarchist’, says creator Rowan Atkinson, whose new TV character is ‘much softer’

Episode 3 – “Suspended Balloon”

Adapted from the fourth volume of Junji Ito’s Horror World, The Face Burglar, it’s an outstanding short story with a truly disturbing premise and horrifying imagery. Giant balloons shaped like heads fill the skies over Japan, seeking out their victims and suspending them from a noose below.

Episode 4 – “Four x Four Walls” / “The Sandman’s Lair”

“Four x Four Walls”, originally known as The Hall of Four Heavy WallsThe Room With Four Walls or The Silent Room, is taken from Junji Ito’s Horror World Volume 6, Souichi’s Curse Diary, while “The Sandman’s Lair”, or Den of the Sleep Demon or Where the Sandman Lives, comes from Puppet house. The first story is notable for being the collection’s introduction to Soichi, one of Ito’s most famous characters, but it’s the second that truly delivers exquisite body horror.

Episode 5 – “Intruder” / “Long Hair in the Attic”

“Intruder”, taken from the ninth volume of Junji Ito’s Horror World, Hallucinationshas a clever concept that’s horrifying in an understated and imaginative way, and makes a good pairing with “Long Hair in the Attic,” from flesh colored horror. The first story is a fun and clever exploration of alternate realities and lookalikes, while the second has some chilling sights but also a little catharsis in its story of a young woman and her selfless boyfriend.

Episode 6 – “Mildew” / “Library Vision”

“Moule”, a story adapted from the seventh volume of Junji Ito’s Horror World, slug girland “Library Vision”, based on Library of Illusions from New voices in the dark, don’t necessarily match a pair, but they’re solid episodes – this last one in particular, a tale of obsession, generational trauma and mania presented in an interesting way.

Read also Will there be a season 4 of Central Park?

Episode 7 – “Tomb Town”

A unique episode devoted to an adaptation of Street of Gravestones (or Gravetown) by The circus is here, “Tomb Town” is a pretty cool little story about the literal manifestation of guilt and the dangers of refusing to face your actions and decisions. This episode mostly relies on its clever concept, but there is some trademark naughtiness towards the end.

Episode 8 – “Layers of Terror” / “The Thing That Drifted to Shore”

Probably the best episode of the collection. “Layers of Fear,” adapted from a one-shot celebrating Ito’s 30th anniversary, is my pick for the most imaginatively disturbing story in the entire collection. And “The Thing That Drifted Ashore”, adapted from a short story by slug girlis a short but effective coda that offers a truly memorable visual just to top it all off.

Episode 9 – “Tomie – Photo”

“Tomie – Photo”, or simply Photographhas been included in several collections and here in Junji Ito Crazy it provides a nice introduction to the character while delivering that quintessential weirdness and visual body horror. I wasn’t crazy about this one, but it gave a full episode to work out because Tomie is one of Ito’s most iconic characters.

Episode 10 – “Unbearable Labyrinth” / “The Tyrant”

“Unbearable Labyrinth”, adapted from Unbearable Mazethe second story of Blood bubble bushes, and “The Bully,” a story in the twelfth volume of the same title from Junji Ito’s Horror World, are a pair of stories that focus on distinct human horror, which gives this episode a remarkable impression of how different these stories are from the most others.

Read also Grey’s Anatomy Season 17: Showrunner Reveals Richard Webber’s Future

Episode 11 – “Alley” / “Headless Statue”

“Alley,” essentially a murder mystery with a supernatural slant, is adapted from back lanethe fifth chapter of the stalker from Junji Ito’s Horror World. “Statue without a head”, meanwhile, adapted from Headless Sculptures in flesh colored horroris a more classically entertaining Ito short with surprisingly gruesome imagery of severed heads on living statues.

Episode 12 – “Whispering Woman” / “Soichi’s Beloved Pet”

“Whispering Woman” is adapted from the eighth chapter of Ma No Kakeraand treads unusual territory by being grounded in friendship and a positive bond, though it ends up getting a little haywire and violent as expected, while “Soichi’s Beloved Pet,” from New voices in the darkshoots a first for Junji Ito Crazy returning to the same character introduced in a previous story.

Thanks for reading our recap of Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre Season 1.

Further reading:

  • Will there be a Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of Macabre Season 2?

The post Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre Season 1 Recap (Episodes 1-12) appeared first on Ready Steady Cut.